Mapmaking for a Fantasy World

I doodled up a map for the fantasy world I’m creating in my head right now. I’m pleased with the result! Ever since I was little, I’ve made maps of imaginary places. Distinct in my memory are the times when I would get home from elementary school and hop on the PC at my Grandmother’s house, open up Paint, make a random squiggly blob, and promptly begin drawing in forests, mountains, and lakes on the virgin landmass. I would color it all in, and add black dots (of varying sizes to indicate population) around the map for cities and towns. I would then label everything with made up names. Yes, this is one of the things I did for fun as a child. 🙂 Turns out, I’m still doing it at 25!

Here’s my preliminary doodle of the fantasy land swirling into creation in my mind… what do you think?

(As you can see, it’s called Ihatenye. The numbers on the map within the dotted lines indicate the various territories of the tribes of the world.) Oh, and the map doesn’t indicate scale, but it’s a continent about the size of the United States.

Edited to add: Shoot, I think I should change the name of the world. I just realized that the name Ihatenye looks like “I hate nye”. What! Crapola. In my head it’s pronounced “ee-ha-ten-ya” but now all I can see is “I hate nye”. So, henceforth, it shall be spelled “Ihahtenye”. Or, “Ihetenye”. Or something. I’ll get it figured out. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mapmaking for a Fantasy World

  1. Rob

    Hey that’s really good – you should transfer your skills to photoshop!

    • Thanks Rob! 🙂 I’ve never used photoshop before, but I do use Sketchbook Express, on both my iPad and on our iMac desktop computer. I started adding color to the map in Sketchbook X, and I like how it’s turning out! I’ll probably do a more polished version later on the iPad.

Leave a Reply

