Slice of Life

I’ve been reading today about slice of life stories. I think my sci fi love story is kind of slice of life… actually, I like that description more. My setting is mainly on Europa, one of Jupiter’s moons. People have aircars, essentially the same as the speeders in Star Wars. There are spaceliners that ferry people and cargo throughout the Solar System. However, I don’t feel the need to go into the hows and whys these work in the future.

To me, that would be like reading a story set in modern day that is full of exposition on how an internal combustion engine works or how a wireless Internet connection works. It just does, we don’t think about it. So it’s the same in my world – my characters don’t pay any more attention to riding in their flying cars or travelling on spaceliners than we do about driving a car or flying in a passenger jet.

My story is set in the future, but that’s the extent of the science fiction. There’s a love story, but there’s no sex (sex in romance novels makes me want to gag). It’s just about a young woman living on Europa and dealing with the end of a relationship and the beginning of a new one. So I guess it is sort of slice of life… we’ll see later when I finish it. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

