It keeps morphing… and morphing…

I started writing a sci-fi romance story about two weeks ago, not long after I found out about NaNoWriMo. It had been a long time since I had done any form of creative writing, and I knew I needed some practice, so I figured I would write a warmup story. I came up with an idea for a science fiction romance, which I prefer to call a love story, because I’ve never read a romance story that didn’t make me gag or roll my eyes or groan.

The story started out very, very different from the form it’s in now. As I write – it’s a little past 15,000 words now – the story keeps morphing. I had a completed plot outline, but I keep revising that. Fortunately, I think with each revision to the plot, the story gets a little bit better. It’s just funny to me how much it’s changed in such a short amount of time. It’s like I started out with a banana and slowly morphed that banana into a chicken drumstick. Or something to that effect.

I’m determined to finish this story though, so I’ll just keep at it through its various permutations! With NaNo just about to start, I have another science fiction story I’m writing for that, so I’ll have to put my love story on the back burner for a while. Taking a break from it might be good for my overall view of that story and allow me to work out what the story truly should be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

